DarielB – Flying Under the Radar

Summer’s Last Blast Was a Blast!

Posted in Live Performance Previews/Reviews by darielb on September 21, 2011

Last Saturday, Sept. 17, I went to Greenville, S.C. (Piedmont, I suppose is more accurate) for the inaugural Summer’s Last Blast & Blues Festival sponsored by Sparkle City Blues, Treeline Entertainment and DeLisle & Associates.

The lineup was superb. Beverly “Guitar” Watkins, Cee Cee James Band featuring guitarist Rickey Godfrey, J Edwards Band, Freddy Vanderford with guitarist Brandon Turner and the Shades, the Matt Walsh Band and the King Bees.

Dave Harrison, who puts out the monthly BluzNdaBlood podcast, drove from Roanoke, Va. for it. He likes catching the Festivals while they’re still small. The week before the Festival he put out a preview show that you might want to hear. Dave does a great job.

All the acts were super, and especially fun for me because I’d never seen Cee Cee James, Freddie Vanderford, the King Bees, Matt Walsh or the headliner, Beverly “Guitar” Watkins before.

I’m going to post some photos taken by my blues sista, Mary Anne McLaurin, along with links to some videos.

She D’Ambrosio and Tim DeLisle put the fledgling festival together, and I think they did a great job. Can’t wait until next year.

Beverly "Guitar" Watkins. So cool to watch her work that guitar ... and super vocals! (Photo Mary Anne McLaurin)

Seriously underrated guitarist Brandon Turner with Piedmont bluesman Freddie Vanderford. (Photo Mary Anne McLaurin)

Juke Joint Johnny (harp) played with the King Bees and also Miss Beverly. (Photo Mary Anne McLaurin)

The King Bees stinging and singing. (Photo Mary Anne McLaurin)

Matt Walsh is from N.C. but plays southside Chicago music. (Photo Mary Anne McLaurin)

Nashville's Rickey Godfrey is currently featured in the Cee Cee James Band, who BTW will be playing the King Biscuit Festival this year. (Photo Mary Anne McLaurin)

J Edwards has a voice that you have to hear to believe. (Photo Mary Anne McLaurin)

Tom "T-Bird" Toglio, drummer with J Edwards Band. (Photo Dariel Bendin)

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sidney said, on September 25, 2011 at 11:43 am

    I had planned to attend this since the moment “She” annouced it, but could not go. I WILL be there next year! I had only heard the King Bees out of all that talent live before. I still feel bad I did not make it. The trip would have been well worth it just to hear Cee Cee James. I have followed her in videos, talks with her, and her great CD’s for a long time. I want more than much to see her live. Oh well, maybe soon I hope.

    • darielb said, on September 25, 2011 at 2:12 pm

      It was a super show, Sidney, my first time seeing Cee Cee live. She’s an exciting performer. I had never seen Matt Walsh before either, another great one! Thanks for your comment!

  2. Anonymous said, on September 25, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    thanks for posting my pictures!


Leave a Reply

