DarielB – Flying Under the Radar

Blues Guitarist Rickey Godfrey Is Heading To the Beach!

Posted in Live Performance Previews/Reviews by darielb on September 28, 2009
Rickey Godfrey working his Telecaster.

Rickey Godfrey working his Telecaster.

Nashville, Tenn. blues guitarist Rickey Godfrey is coming to the Grand Strand for five local performances.  On Sunday, Oct. 4, Godfrey will participate in the Myrtle Beach House of Blues Art Show & Blues Battle, and is slated to take the stage at 3:30 p.m. Godfrey has four dates scheduled at Key West Crazy in Little River, S.C. He will play Monday, Oct. 5 from 7 to 10 p.m.; Friday, Oct. 9 and Saturday, Oct. 10 from 7 to 10:30 p.m.; and Sunday, Oct. 11 from 6 to 9 p.m.

Godfrey, who has been blind since birth, is considered to be one of Nashville’s premier blues guitarists. He began studying at the age of seven, while attending the South Carolina School for the Blind. He studied classical piano and voice, and later added guitar to his list of musical accomplishments. The versatile guitarist is also known for his gritty soulful vocals.

Godfrey says, “I like many different kinds of music, which has helped me to develop more of an original style. I don’t just listen to blues. I listen to jazz, country, R&B, rock  gypsy music, classical, which gives my playing a lot of influences. So, when I play blues I don’t sound like Albert King or Elmore James. I don’t sound like Eric Clapton and Stevie Ray Vaughn, either; I sound like Rickey Godfrey. Although I love those guys I just mentioned, the blues I play, I infuse with guitar licks from old jazz guitarists like Charlie Christian, but, especially, Django Rhinehart, who was a big influence on my playing. It makes me sound different from a lot of guitar players who, I think, play too many stock, predictable blues and rock licks.”

Born in Greenville, S.C. he moved to Nashville in 1993. Since then he has worked with artists such as Rufus Thomas,  Sam Moore, Billy Preston and Junior Walker. He has been nominated by the Music City Blues Society for both Guitarist and Keyboard Player of the Year.

For more information about the artist, visit his MySpace page at www.myspace.com/therickeygodfreyband .

Leave a Reply

