DarielB – Flying Under the Radar

CD Pick: Delta Generators: Devil In the Rhythm

Posted in CD Picks by darielb on March 27, 2009

cddelta-devil

Delta Generators
www.myspace.com/deltagenerators
Devil In the Rhythm (2008)
Self-produced
Genre: Blues

I’ve never seen the Delta Generators onstage, but their debut CD, Devil In the Rhythm, makes me lust for a live performance. Right from track one, “Hand Me Down Blues,” I knew I was in for a wild ride of rockin’ funk-edged blues, and is it ever fun!

The nine-track CD is chock full of sharply written lyrics (all penned by vocalist and harpman, Craig Rawding), and that’s just the beginning.  Guitarist Charlie O’Neal brings a Mississippi style to the table and leaves me wanting more (Guitar enthusiasts, take note; there’s some serious slide going on here). Brother Rick O’Neal, on bass guitar,  has a background in funk and soul, and you can hear it in the rhythm section. According to the website, two drummers are featured on the CD – current drummer John Armstrong and former stick man John Perkins. Fine drummers, both.

Rawding’s vocals cut to the heart of each song. I’m hard-pressed to choose a favorite. I love the attitude of the opener, where he’s telling some guy to  quit coming around with the same old problems, I got my own; title track “Devil In the Rhythm” boasts smart, smart lyrics and is a good old-fashioned romp in the past;  “Straw Dog Strut,” which was inspired by Elmore James, and does him justice, I might add, showcases the band at its best.

It’s easy to see why this Worcester, Mass. group won top honors in the 2008 Boston Blues Challenge and went on to be a finalist in this year’s International Blues Competition (IBC).

At this writing, Delta Generators isn’t even two years old, and they’re already working on their next CD, with an ETA of September 2009. I’m already impatient for it, and I don’t know about you, but I’m going to get me to one of their upcoming live gigs. ASAP!

Leave a Reply

